Looking back...

moving forward.

Southeastern Illinois Community Foundation has a rich history of progress from the founding of Mattoon Area Community Foundation in 1980 and Effingham County Community Foundation in 1999, to the hiring of its first paid staff member in 2004. Both Effingham and Mattoon achieved independent certification from Council on Foundations for the National Standards for Community Foundations in 2005 and 2007 respectively. In July 2012, re-certification was received.

In 2009, Southeastern Illinois Community Foundation enthusiastically embarked upon the building of a new regional organization. Merging the two founding organizations (Effingham and Mattoon) was the first step in the new mission of serving donors and non-profits in 12 counties in southeastern Illinois. This marked a key turning point in the organization’s evolution and direction and much has been learned about the benefits, as well as the challenges, of building a regional scale operation serving multiple communities.

In July, 2013, the next chapter of growth of the Southeastern Illinois Community Foundation regional family began with the establishment of Jasper County Community Foundation in 2013. The newest member of the family, Crawford County Community Foundation, joined in 2015.