Who We Are

Southeastern Illinois Community Foundation, headquartered in Effingham, Illinois, serves a network of donors and fund advisors located throughout its service area. The Community Foundation is governed by a board of directors who represent the region’s diverse geographic interests. 

Our Leadership

The staff of Southeastern Illinois Community Foundation includes professionals in community development, accounting, financial aid and communication.

Alex Pleasant, President/CEO
Connie Lilly, Accounting/Donor Services Administrator
Kristen Bertrand, Program Officer
Jen Bergbower, Operations Officer

Our governing board members are the fiduciaries who steer the organization towards a sustainable future. They are responsible for adopting sound, ethical, and legal governance and financial management policies, as well as making sure the Community Foundation has adequate resources to advance its mission. 

2022 Governing Board

Chuck Deters, Chair
Dean Bingham, Vice Chair
Julie Everett, Secretary/Treasurer 
Aaron Leonard
Scott Bloomberg
Ryan Orrick
Mel Stock
Jake Dively

Southeastern Illinois Community Foundation has met the National Standards for operational quality, donor service and accountability in the community foundation sector. The Community Foundation is in compliance with the National Standards of U.S. Community Foundations Program administered by the Council on Foundations, a membership body of more than 2,000 grant-making foundations and giving programs worldwide. This affirms our commitment to financial security, transparency and accountability.